Governor General's Literary Awards

Individual artists & artist educators
Thursday, October 1, 2020 - 11:45pm


The Canada Council for the Arts celebrates the best in Canadian literature: our Governor General’s Literary Awards recognize finalists and winners in seven categories, in both official languages, for readers of all ages.

What is this prize?

The Governor General's Literary Awards are presented in recognition of the best English-language and best French-language book in each of the following seven categories: Fiction, Literary Non-fiction, Poetry, Drama, Young People's Literature – Text, Young People's Literature – Illustrated Books and Translation (from French to English and vice versa).

Prize amount

14 awards of $25,000 per book for winners in both languages in the seven categories and a $3,000 grant to each publisher to promote the winning works

$1,000 per book for the finalists

How to qualify

For complete eligibility criteria and the nomination form, refer to the Governor General’s Literary Awards Guidelines.

Books must be submitted to the Canada Council by an eligible publisher.

Peer assessment committees review all eligible titles in each of the 7 categories. Each committee chooses a winner, and up to 4 more books as finalists. 

For further information on these prizes, visit the Governor General’s Literary Awards website.