Esprit Orchestra Presents: Electric & Eclectic

Event Date and Time: 
Wednesday, February 26, 2020 - 8:00pm
Event Type: 
Koerner Hall
273 Bloor St. W.

John Adams (U.S.A.) – Son of Chamber Symphony (2007) – for orchestra

James O'Callaghan (Canada) – Not non-other (2020) – for orchestra and octophonic electronics

Alfred Schnittke (Russia) – Concerto Grosso No. 1 (1977) – for 2 solo violins, harpsichord, prepared piano and string orchestra


Electronic treatment of orchestral sound in concerts is rare so O’Callaghan’s multi-speaker, surround-sound blending of transformed orchestral sound with computer sound files radiates new sonic dimensions. Changing meters rapidly and scurrying all over the place, Adams’ score is riveting and full of surprises. Schnittke looms large in recent music history and his remarkable Concerto Grosso No.1 reveals the astounding vision and creative force of one of the greatest composers of the past century.