World Alliance for Arts Education Virtual Seminar

Event Date and Time: 
Monday, October 26, 2020 - 9:00am
Event Type: 
Location: 
Online

Virtual Seminar

26 October 2020 - 9:00 EST/14:00GMT

The impact of the arts and arts education is wide and significant. As a global arts education community, we seek to know the impact of our work in the many contexts in which it manifests. As the world experiences tremendous shifts in education and cultural engagement, we must envision new pathways for assessing and evaluating the impact of arts learning and arts programming.

This virtual seminar will provide an opportunity for the global arts education community to share research and begin to examine the structures, processes, and practices, which may lead our field towards a new reality of arts assessment and program evaluation. This seminar will bring together several invited international experts and host a discussion of evidence-based practices aimed at measuring impact of arts learning and arts programming.

Program

The seminar will be held live from 9:00 EST / 14:00 GMT to 10:45 EST / 15:45 GMT. The program will be as follows:

Introduction - Robin Pascoe, Chair of the Executive Council of the World Alliance for Arts Education

Welcome - Dr. Timothy Brophy & Marcia McCaffrey, Co-chairs of the WAAE Summit 2020/21

Presentations:

“Culturalization of digital life worlds: The impact of arts education in the context of digitalisation” - Dr. Susanne Keuchel (Germany)

“Learning about culture: testing arts-based learning through randomised control trials” - Mark Londesborough & Sam Cairns (UK)

“Redefining assessment literacy in music teacher education curriculum” - Drs. Jared Rawlings and Kelly A. Parkes (USA)

Closing & Transition - Jeff M. Poulin, Chair of the Young & Emerging Leaders Forum

Participants will be invited to a facilitated discussion following the seminar, which will be held from 11:00 EST / 16:00 GMT to 12:00 EST / 17:00 GMT.